George Washington by Gilbert Stuart

U.S. Capitol Building

Washington, D.C.

An American symbol of freedom, the United States Capitol Building is part of the legislative branch of the government. The laws of the entire country are made in the Capitol Building within the House of Representatives and the Senate chambers. It is located at the eastern end of the National Mall on Capitol Hill. The Capitol Building opened in 1800 and has been through numerous renovations and construction phases. It was burned by the British in 1814 and then reconstructed. The dome was added to the Capitol Building in 1868. The U.S. Capitol Building is considered to be a museum, a monument, and the focal point of the American government.

The U.S. Capitol Building was built in 1800.

The U.S. Capitol Building didn’t always have the big dome, which was added during the 1850 expansion to the building.

The U.S. Capitol was burned during the War of 1812 and had to be rebuilt.

Thomas Jefferson gave it the name “Capitol” instead of calling it the “Congress House.”

There are 5 floors in the U.S. Capitol Building.