George Washington by Gilbert Stuart

Thirteen Original Colonies

Later to Become the United States of America

The thirteen original colonies refer to the first thirteen states in the United States of America. They were: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. The colonies declared independence from Great Britain in 1776.

Great Britain controlled and possessed the colonies in the New World.

The thirteen original colonies united in opposition to the British government.

The 14th state, Vermont, was added in 1791.

There was close to 2.5 million settlers in the colonies by 1775.

President Thomas Jefferson made the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, which would begin a westward expansion of the United States.