George Washington by Gilbert Stuart

The White House

Home of the U.S. President

The White House is the home of the President of the United States.  The White House was built in 1800 and was first inhabited by President John Adams and his wife Abigail. The house has two wings, the East Wing and the West Wing. The East Wing has many offices, including the “Office of the First Lady.” The West Wing of the White House includes the Oval Office, which is the official office for the President of the United States.

The President uses the Oval Office as a primary place to work on major topics that are happening within our country. The desk in the Oval Office is known as the Resolute Desk. The President is able to meet with senior advisors and members of the cabinet in this office. The White House has been through numerous renovations since opening and is one of the most highly guarded places in the United States.

President Harry Truman opened the first bowling alley in the White House on April 25, 1947. The bowling alley is located in the West Wing.

The White House has 132 rooms, 35 bathrooms, and is 6 stories tall.

President Theodore Roosevelt gave the White House its official name, “The White House,” in 1901.

The White House is protected by the United States Secret Service and the United States Park Police.

President John Quincy Adams created the first flower garden at the White House.