George Washington by Gilbert Stuart

The House of Representatives

The House of Representatives is established in Article One of the Constitution under the legislative branch of government. The House of Representatives consists of 435 seats. The amount of representatives from each state varies based on the population of each state. Every member of the House of Representatives serves a two year term. Qualifications to be a member of the House of Representatives include being at least 25 years old, a U.S. citizen for at least seven years, and a resident of the state they are representing.

”The House of Representatives shall be composed of members chosen every second year by the people of the several states, and the electors in each state shall have the qualifications requisite for electors of the most numerous branch of the state legislature.”—The Constitution, Article One, Section Two

California has the most representatives in the House at 53 members.

All bills pertaining to taxes start in the House of Representatives.

The House is led by the Speaker of the House, who is also third man in line after the President and Vice President.