George Washington by Gilbert Stuart

Presidential Seal

The Presidential Seal is closely modelled after the Great Seal of the United States. Around the border of the seal read the words “Seal of the President of the United States.” Within that is a ring of 50 stars, representing the 50 states. In the center is an eagle, holding an olive branch in its right talon as a symbol of peace. In his left talon he holds arrows as a symbol of war. The red and white stripes on its shield and the 13 stars above the eagle represent the original 13 colonies. A ribbon reading “E Pluribus Unum” which translates to “out of many, one,” rests above the eagle’s head. This seal represents the president and is used on all of his official documents.

The current Presidential Seal was created by President Eisenhower in 1960 to account for all 50 states.

The Presidential Seal is famously molded onto the ceiling of the Oval office and stitched into its rug as well.

In 1945, President Truman requested that the eagle in the seal face the olive branch rather than the arrows.