Intolerable Acts

It seems that England did not find the Boston Tea Party as inspirational as the colonists did. The King was very upset and issued the acts collectively known to the Americans as the Intolerable Acts. These included the closing of the Boston Harbor, General Gage becoming the governor of Massachusetts, and special rights to Quebec. England hoped these acts would suppress American rebellion, but they only fueled the fire for independence in the Patriots’ hearts. In 1774, the First Continental Congress met to plan a protest in reaction to these Acts.

The Americans called these laws the “Intolerable Acts” because they could not “tolerate” them. The British called them the “Coercive Acts.”

The five laws creating the Intolerable Acts are: the Boston Port Act, the Massachusetts Government Act, the Administration of Justice Act, the Quartering Act, and finally the Quebec Act.

These acts served to unite the 13 colonies. For example, the other 12 colonies sent Massachusetts supplies to help them when their trade was cut off.

The congress called to discuss these acts was the first intercolonial conference since the Stamp Act Crisis.

In a letter to James Warren, Samuel Adams referred to these acts as a “cruel edict.”