Executive Branch

The Executive branch is the second branch of government established in the Constitution. The leader of this branch is the President of the United States. He is also considered the leader of American government as a whole, and is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. Amongst other powers, the President can sign bills into law or to veto them. While most people assume the president makes up the entire Executive branch, this is not true. The vice president, the Cabinet, the Executive Office and independent federal agencies are also a part of this branch. It is the role of the entire Executive branch to enforce the laws that have been passed.

To become president, you must be 35 years old, a natural born U.S. citizen and have lived in America for 14 years.

One role of the vice president is to break a tie in the Senate if one arises!

The Department of Defense, the Department of Education, and the Department of the Treasury are just a few agencies in the Executive branch.

It was not until 1951 that term limits were implemented on the Presidential office.

President Donald Trump is the current and 45th President of the United States.